Library in the Miller Center

Hours today: 7:30 am - 7:00 pm

View Hours

Collection Management

Collection Management

Miller Center Library includes more than 2.5 million items, including access to more than 22,000 periodicals and 250,000 US Government publications,, and providing global access to help meet the curricular, scholarly, and recreational needs of students and faculty of St. Cloud State University and residents of Central Minnesota.

Collection Management involves a collaborative effort between library liaisons, faculty, program administrators, and students to develop a collection that represents user needs and University programs.

Requests for purchase may be submitted online or by contacting Collection Management at libraryacquisitions@stcloudstate.edu.

Phone: 320.308.4756
Email: libraryacquisitions@stcloudstate.edu

Archives

University Archives preserves the official records of and information about St. Cloud State University, as well as several other statewide organizations. Included are catalogs, yearbooks, and other SCSU publications. In addition, Archives is responsible for several special collections of manuscripts and artifacts.

Phone: 320.308.4753
Email: archives@stcloudstate.edu

Acquisitions and Processing

Acquisitions coordinates the purchase and processing of additions to Learning Resources collections, including books (monographs), reference resources, serials (journals, newspapers, etc.), CD-ROMs, videos, films, microforms, and electronic access to Internet resources.

Acquisitions is also responsible for labelling, temporary binding and repair, preparation of bookbinding shipments of LR&TS materials to a vendor when necessary, and preparation of theses for microfilming.

Email: libraryacquisitions@stcloudstate.edu

Cataloging

Unknown to most library users, Cataloging creates the physical and intellectual description and classification of items that allows information resources to be identified in the online catalog and located within the collections. The LR&TS Cataloging unit, while small, is extremely productive and is active in identifying and cataloging select digital resources available on the Web.

Faculty and Staff

Faculty and staff of the Collection Services work outside the public eye to review and acquire information resources for LR&TS collections and provide appropriate and accurate ways of accessing LR&TS resources, including growing access to electronic media.

Cathy Coats
Cataloging
320-308-4769 cmcoats@stcloudstate.edu
Keith Ewing
Professor
Library Systems Librarian

320-308-4824 kewing@stcloudstate.edu
Jo Flanders
Associate Professor
Collection Management Workgroup Leader
E-Resources/Serials Librarian
320-308-2064 jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu
Tina Gross
Associate Professor
Cataloging Librarian
(On sabbatical 2013-2014)
320-308-4771 tmgross@stcloudstate.edu
Alissa LaChapelle
Archives
320-308-2551 aclachapelle@stcloudstate.edu
Diane Larson
Acquisitions
320-308-4773 dlarson@stcloudstate.edu
Molly Mitzel
Acquisitions
320-308-2088 memitzel@stcloudstate.edu
Wendy Springer
Periodicals
320-308-4772 wspringer@stcloudstate.edu
Thomas Steman
Professor
University Archivist
320-308-4753 tdsteman@stcloudstate.edu
Blair Tosh
Cataloging
320-308-5622 bmtosh@stcloudstate.edu
Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor
Acquisitions Librarian
320-308-4756 rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu
Untitled Document