Library in the Miller Center

Hours today: 7:30 am - 12:00 am

View Hours

Hail to the Chief! Presidents of St. Cloud State University, 1869-2014

John Headley, President, 1947-1951

John Headley

  • Before becoming president at St. Cloud State, taught in South Dakota public schools, as well as president of the State Teachers College in Mayville, North Dakota, from 1945 to 1947

  • Joseph Carhart, SCSU president from 1890-1895, also served as president at the State Teachers College in Mayville, North Dakota

  • When construction was completed on Stewart Hall (1950), "Old Main" (1874), which was demolished soon after

  • Planning for the new library, Kiehle Library (1952), now the Kiehle Visual Arts Center, began during Headley's tenure

  • Headley Hall (1963) was named in his honor
  • Left St. Cloud State to become president of South Dakota State University, where he served until 1957 when he died from an accidental gunshot wound while hunting.


< Previous -- President's Exhibit Home  -- Next >

Untitled Document